Adding several SPI slaves to one RPi SPI bus and adding several SPI buses to one RPi

Basic Information:

Printer Model: CTC A13
MCU / Printerboard: SKR 2
klippy.log

Hi, I’m a rookie and this is my first question here.

When I want to add a device to an SPI bus, how do I instantiate the needed CS (SS) pin in Klipper! I’m too stupid to find the right document :worried:
I guess the wiring should be like this

My question is, how do I instantiate this in Klipper.

Kind regards, hcet14

Look at the code for the adxl345. In the config file you specify a cs_pin. The code is in klippy/extras/adxl345.py.

Please be more specific as to what you want to achieve:

@ dockterj and Sineos
You are absolutely right, I was sloppy! I beg your pardon and thanks for your answers. I changed the topic title.

I read a little further in the WWW.

My question were…

Point 1: How to add several SPI slaves to one RPi SPI bus (especially the CS_pins)
Point 2: Adding several SPI buses to one RPi

Point 1: I found this, which makes sense to me:
(3 slaves on one spi_bus) add to /boot/config.txt (or /boot/firmware/config.txt in some distros):

dtoverlay=spi6-3cs,cs0_pin=16,cs1_pin=26,cs1_pin=6 (GPIO pins can be different)

or Be careful, lines must be shorter than 98-character line length limit (previously 78) characters. If a line becomes to long you can use the equivalent long form:

dtoverlay=spi6-3cs
dtparameter=cs0_pin=16
dtparameter=cs1_pin=26
dtparameter=cs1_pin=6

Point 2: check Raspberry Pi 4 - Multiple SPIs and Raspberry Pi 4 - Device Tree

On the same SPI bus you need to differentiate the devices via an own CS pin. MISO, MOSI, SCLK are shared. The active SPI device is chosen by pulling the CS pin high. This is done automatically by Klipper.

Above is the case, e.g. when you share a MAX board on the same SPI bus as your stepper drivers.

On the RPi it is a bit different.

• Depending on the RPi Model, the SPI buses work differently. Information covered in here is focused on RPi4