BTT EBB42 not communicating over CAN

Hello Klipper Community! I’m new to Klipper but not to 3D printing, electronics, or coding.

I’ve taken the plunge to build a RatRig V-Core 3 500 and while I wait for the printer itself I’ve been setting up the electronics on the bench but I’ve hit a wall.

I’m running a BTT Octopus Pro 429 and a BTT EBB42 for the toolhead but I’ll be damned if I can get anything to come out of the CAN bus on the EBB42. I’m hoping someone can give me an idea of where to look next.

Here’s what I’ve done/tried:

• CAN H/L are wired using a twisted pair from a CAT5 cable
  • Terminating resistors are connected on both boards and the bus reads 59.9ohms
  • Updated both boards to the lastest commit on master
  • Tried the default 500,000kHz and BTT’s suggested 250,00kHz
  • Flashed the EBB as a CAN bridge and was able to get its UUID but still can’t get communication with it as a CAN only node
  • Put my scope to the bus and I’ve got nice square edges and good data being transmitted but no signs of life from the EBB at all, not even driving the bus dominant for the ACK bit
  • Also put my scope on the RX/TX pins from the CAN transceiver on the EBB and the signal is good on RX there as well, but absolutely nothing on the TX line

Thanks for your help

It’s not clear how you have the EBB board connected. Are you using the Octopus as a bridge, or do you have a CAN adapter?

True enough, clear to me who’s been messing with it all week but not to anyone else lol.

It is connected with the Octopus as a bridge.

Is the bridge working properly? By that I mean do you have a can0 interface, and are you able to run:

~/klippy-env/bin/python ~/klipper/scripts/canbus_query.py can0

and find the uuid for the EBB?

Yes, both boards work fine in bridge mode and I have the UUID for both (see below, the EBB does not respond when flashed with CAN firmware but does when flashed as a bridge), but the EBB never responds to the query from the Octopus.