Accelerometer-based z-offset calibration

I believe a couple attempts at bed probing using an accelerometer have been attempted. I am curious about using accelerometer data to perform z-offset measurement.

I know that support for the LISx accelerometers has been added to Klipper recently. Years ago I built an Arduino home automation project to determine whether or not my dryer was running based on vibration. I tested a number of sensors, including piezo sensors, ADXL345, and LIS3DH. The LIS3DH produced the best results by far when it was in its ‘click/double-click’ mode. My project would count the number of clicks in a rolling ten-second period and relay this data over MQTT to my computer. I believe the clicks were caused by garments in the dryer falling and then hitting the bottom of the rotating drum.

I think the ADXL had similar click-detection capabilities, but I couldn’t get them to work. I’m just a hobbyist, so maybe someone else can make it work better.

Back on topic. The LISx sensors have this tap detection mode. I am wondering if one of these sensors could sub in for a load cell or a Voron Tap-style setup in automatically measuring z-offset.

I believe an accelerometer-based approach would work better for this purpose than it has for previous attempts to use the ADXL as a substitute bed probe for a couple reasons:

• The existing bed probe would provide some idea of where the bed is. The printer wouldn’t be blindly pushing the nozzle toward the print bed.
  • I believe the tap-detection abilities of the LISx sensors would be specifically useful for this approach. LIS sensors have only been in Klipper for the last four months or so, so I don’t think they were part of previous attempts at accelerometer-based bed probing