Ender 5 and Creality Sonic Pad

Hi !

I want to know if someone have tried to configure an ender 5 (classic) with a Creality Sonic Pad. And if it is easy ? I changed my motherboard for a silent one (v1.1.5).
Sorry I’m not an expert in 3D printer domain but I’m really interested in printing faster :slight_smile:
I saw that it is compatible with every ender 5 models except the classic one (or it is not mentioned).
So if it is not difficult to adapt it with my printer I will buy one.

Thanks.

P.S : sorry for my english … I’m french

See

2 Likes

There’s a good chance you’re going to have problems if you go with the Sonic Pad.

The Sonic Pad generally sets up and runs without problems if you have ALL original Creality hardware. I believe the “Silent board 1.1.5” is also known as the 4.2.7:

Now, having said that, there seems to be an unusual number of problems with the Sonic Pad on the Ender 5 compared to other Creality models. I helped a poor fellow out with an Ender 5 (I don’t know which controller board he had) a few months ago in setting up a Sonic Pad and we did get it working reasonably well, it still fails with a “Webhooks” error once every week or so, but to get to this point it took a lot of work and USB cables with clip on common mode chokes.

To be fair, Ender 3s and the Sonic Pad seem to work really well with few problems reported.

I’ve helped five people to get their Sonic Pads working and have only had one instance where it was completely reliable afterwards. I think there is a problem with how (at least one of) the USB ports are designed/wired.

Hi

Thanks for your reply. Because i’m not an expert, I will not buy it as I thought. I prefer a plug’n play system. Or juste minor changes to do.
Maybe a firmware update in the future will help me.

Thanks again.

Setting up Klipper on a Raspberry Pi is not that difficult and there is a plethora of instructions out there that you can use.