Help getting started with custom Klipper setup for unique build

Basic Information:

Printer Model: Custom, Polar Coordinate, Direct Ink Write
MCU: BTT SKR Pico w/ RPi 4B

Describe your issue:

I’m an undergraduate mechanical engineering student working with a team to build a custom 3D printer. Specifically we’re designing a Direct Ink Write (DIW) system, essentially a hybrid between FDM & SLA (somewhat like this). We chose the BTT board based on physical footprint and we’re starting with Klipper at the recommendation from another student.
Because DIW does not use a typical hotend with temperature feedback, a lot of the safety features built in to Klipper for thermal control have proven difficult to extricate (especially given my limited exposure to Python & C++). Therefore, my current request for help is as follows, in order of convenience:

• Does a repository exist that has already removed all hotend/thermistor/thermocouple-related code for an application similar to this?
  • Is there a state diagram for Klipper that would help me identify where to start?
  • Are there alternative firmwares that would be better suited to this task?

It’s worth mentioning that the final build will be running independent of any online utility such as Octoprint. I will also reiterate that I’m not a CS major, so I’m hoping the adjustments in code are simpler than I thought because of my lack of experience. I’m happy to provide additional details of the build if needed, but will do so on a limited basis until the build is finished since it’s for a competition. We will make the entire thing open-source once it’s complete.

You misunderstand the software involved here. Klipper is the firmware, and Mainsail/Fluidd are web based frontends for Klipper similar to Octoprint.

It’s not clear to me what you’re trying to accomplish with regard to heaters so I can’t offer advice on how to modify Klipper, but alternative firmwares would be RRF or Marlin. I’m not sure if either will run on a Pico.