Help needed, DFROBOT Speaker Module v2, klipper raspberry pi

Basic Information:

Printer Model: Ender 3 V3 SE
MCU / Printerboard:
Host / SBC RPI
klippy.log

Fill out above information and in all cases attach your klippy.log file (use zip to compress it, if too big). Pasting your printer.cfg is not needed
Be sure to check our “Knowledge Base” Category first. Most relevant items, e.g. error messages, are covered there

Describe your issue:

Good day all

I have been gifted a few electronics that im looking to install on my enclosure. one of them being this speaker module, would it work with klipper? ive tried connecting it with the 3 wires ,let’s say gpio 15, declared it in printer.cfg but it’s not working. I am very new to this so any and all guidance on how to set it up, what to type in printer.cfg or elsewhere will be greatly appreciated.

was able to get the gifted bme680 sensor working but really struggling with the speaker module.

this is the product wiki for the module although i have the v2 version.

i’ve installed arduino ide(not sure if it’s needed or detrimental to the system/build

By documentation samples for Arduino it’s driven by “tone” function, if you read about that function you will find that it’s using PWM output, and most probably PWM signal frequency and duty cycle will define a tone.

So if you wish to hook it up - you need to setup your pin as PWM output
Possible klipper candidates:
pwm_tool
pwm_cycle_time

1 Like

Hi Gaolst

Thank you. I think i have that set up. I’ll share my config when i get home.

It’s been driving me crazy for that last couple of days.

Hi Gaolst,

This is my printer.cfg speaker section

[output_pin speaker]

pin: PB0

pwm: True

value: 0

shutdown_value: 0

cycle_time: 0.001

still not working though, i have tried the pin out on the pi as well as through the pins on the lcd connector, PB0 being the original/default buzzer/beeper pin for the SE printer

Ok, this is just a config which is setting PWM to 0 freq.