Cannot flash MKS Robin Nano 3.1 to Klipper firmware

Basic Information:

Printer Model: Custom - upgrading an old Floger FT5
MCU / Printerboard:MKS Robin Nano V3.1
klippy.log

I don’t think klippy.log is relevant because Klipper is running fine, I need to get the MCU flashed before I can take the next step.

Describe your issue:

Please note that I know there is a similar discussion from last December, I have read that thread but it went off on so many tangents it was really difficult to gain much insight from it. I’m hoping this is much more straightforward of a problem since I am trying something that should be possible and doing everything as much by the book as I can.

I’m brand new to Klipper so please don’t assume I did anything correct. I’ve had this printer for 5+ years and it is working well and seems like a really good candidate to upgrade instead of replace because much of the structure is similar to a Voron.

So I ripped out the guts which were an old MKS Gen 1.4 and a 12v power supply, added the MKS Robin Nano 3.1, a PI 3b, 24v MeanWell and a 5v MeanWell, and a solid-state relay for a new hot bed.

I got everything wired up (basically just like a Voron). I got OctoPrint with Klipper loaded on the PI just fine.

Then I went to flash the firmware on the Robin Nano and followed the instructions in the Nano config file for Klipper to a T. I set all the settings in Klipper as described in make menuconfig, then ran make, it built klipper.bin with no errors, copied that to a USB microSD card and renamed it to Robin_nano_v3.bin. I stuck that into the SD card slot on the MCU and powered it up. I can see the LED for the SD card light up on the MCU, but it doesn’t seem to do anything. I give it several minutes, power it down, pull the sd card out and power it back up and it is still running Marlin Firmware (I have a screen that came with the MKS Robin that has an about menu that shows you the firmware running).