Klipper CNC Spindle RPM

Hello everyone,

I’m looking into using Klipper to control a cnc servo spindle. How do I determine the rpms? And how do I determine them if using gear ratio. Ex: 1:5.

I’ve reviewed the PWM tool documentation and perused the cnc pages on here.

I’m wondering if anyone knows how to setup the config for something like this.

I’m new to Klipper and GCODE etc. I would like to write some macros but I’m unsure how to figure out the rpm’s.

I see configs that look similar to this:

[output_pin TOOL]
pin: !ar9 # use your fan’s pin number
pwm: True
hardware_pwm: True
cycle_time: 0.001
shutdown_value: 0
maximum_mcu_duration: 5
##Default: 0 (disabled)
##Amount of time in which the host has to acknowledge
##a non-shutdown output value.
##Suggested value is around 5 seconds.
##Use a value that does not burn up your stock.
##Please note that during homing, your tool
##needs to be in default speed.

Thank you for your help in advance.

You will have to look up the specifications in the documentation of your spindle driver. The PWM allows to create a pulse with a specified duty factor. How to translate this duty factor into RPM is unrelated to Klipper and totally depends on your driver and motor. It is very well possible that you will not even find a clear specification, in which case you have to help yourself with some estimates. You could e.g. crank up the duty factor until the spindle starts - this is your zero offset (let’s call it xstart). Then you continue cranking up the factor until the speed is no longer increasing and assume this to be the rated RPM of your spindle (let’s call that duty factor xmax). Then you can assume that the relation in between is linear. So the conversion formula would be (with x being the duty factor):

actual_rpm = (x - xstart)/xmax * rated_rpm

or turned around:

x = actual_rpm/rated_rpm * xmax + xstart

I hope this helps you as a starting point.