More info from questioners

Basic Information:

Printer Model:
MCU / Printerboard:
klippy.log

I would like to ask the community.

I’m a beginner and read a lot here. I would like to have more info from the questioners about their setup.

Do you think it would be helpful to ask for more log files? I’m missing moonraker.log to see software version, etc.

Maybe there are other helpful files!

Thanks, hcet14

As you can see, this subforum already asks for vital information to support the questioners.
Sadly a lot of them do not share the required infos.
Asking for more logs would not help.

I think asking for the frontend logs (Moonraker, Fluid etc) would be interesting for that (Frontends) subforum.

When I notice that someone runs Klipper on OctoPrint, I ask for the octoprint.log. Sometimes an issue can be found in one of the plugins there.

1 Like

Yes, too bad…

I don’t think so. In my eyes it might be helpful in every forum, subforum here.

1 Like

I would agree if that log would support a bit more information:

AFAIK, there is no info whether it runs on a Pi or not. And if yes, what is the throttle state: Is there undervoltage or overheating? Or are there clues whether the user does power cycling the Pi for restarting.
As said: AFAIK

1 Like

I think what is basically asked is pretty optimal.

A bigger problem is to get people to properly describe their printer in terms of modifications to their printers including cabling.

2 Likes

I’m happy to get a klippy.log. In my experience it is enough in >95% of all cases. If we need to dig deeper and either request moonraker logs or dmesg output, so be it. Usually not needed.

As @EddyMI3D rightfully pointed out: We can consider ourselves lucky when the requester

1. Reads what is asked for
  2. Consults the available information before asking
  3. Is able to follow the advice given
2 Likes