Pressure Advance tuning issue: gap at corner

I’m new to Klipper and I’ve just built a Voron V0(.0), my first DIY printer. Nothing like stepping off into the deep end. :grinning: I’m attempting to tune Pressure Advance on this printer. I’ve already done Input Shaper with an ADXL345; I’ve ended up with

[printer]
max_velocity: 300
max_accel: 9000

[input_shaper]
shaper_type_x = zv
shaper_freq_x = 104.2
shaper_type_y = zv
shaper_freq_y = 119.6

I’m tuning Pressure Advance with this startup g-code, per the guide:

SET_VELOCITY_LIMIT SQUARE_CORNER_VELOCITY=1 ACCEL=500
TUNING_TOWER COMMAND=SET_PRESSURE_ADVANCE \
    PARAMETER=ADVANCE \
    START=ss \
    FACTOR=ff

The image below details my results thus far.

I have additional photos I’ll attempt to link below, but I’m too new to the forum to embed them in this post.

My first attempt, using START=0 and FACTOR=0.020 (I’m using a bowden setup) and the slicer-default retraction of 2mm seems to have progressed too quickly past the sweet spot and left a massive gap at the left, after the corner is turned (the nozzle printed from left to right on the faces showing in the photo).

For my 2nd attempt, I realized the PA was advancing too quickly, so I tried using the direct-drive FACTOR of 0.005; the corner gap didn’t appear, but at the max PA value of 0.25 for this print, the corner still wasn’t sharp.

My 3rd attempt started where the 2nd left off, START=0.25, but with FACTOR=0.007 to speed up the progression a bit. I think the best looking corner is about ¼ of the way up, there’s still a valley on the left where the nozzle starts its acceleration.

For kicks, I lowered the retraction to 0 and repeated the previous attempt, START=0.25 FACTOR=0.007, and I don’t see a huge difference.

The problem I see with all of these is that they don’t seem to match the reference photo in the guide. I would have expected a properly-tuned PA to have sharp corners at both the accelerating and decelerating sides. Am I over-thinking this?