Clarifying Questions!

Basic Information:

Printer Model: Creality CR10-S
MCU / Printerboard: ? All I know is that it says in the “about printer” section “v1.1.6” and “Creality v2.1”
klippy.log none

Describe your issue:

Hello! I am new to Klipper and plan on installing it over the next month. I have a few clarifying questions, but first I should say that I have a Raspberry Pi 4 hooked up to the Raspberry Pi 7" Screen running Octoprint. I am intending to run Klipper and KlipperScreen. Here are my questions:

1. I do not have a desktop OS on my Pi. Do I need to have one to run KlipperScreen?
  2. If I am going to run Klipper and KlipperScreen, will I end up having to run OctoPrint, Klipper, Raspberry OS, Moonraker, and KlipperScreen all at once? And is that even possible?
  3. Will the Creality 2017 CR10-S Config file in the directory work for my printer based off of the Versions mentioned in the MCU/Printerboard Section(Link to File: klipper/config/printer-creality-cr10s-2017.cfg at master · Klipper3d/klipper · GitHub)?
    Thank you for your time! I’m excited to install Klipper!

Welcome. I used Sineos Klipper Architecture / Ecosystem and added some information for myself.

Please correct me, if anybody finds errors in above block schematics!

I’ll update the schematics with KlipperScreen.

Good luck, hcet14

edit: I deleted the diagram. I think it’s just confusing new users.

Is Octoprint really that bad? I spent a lot of time installing and refining Octoprint. Is it really worth it?

Not at all. You want to use KlipperScreen for your Raspberry Pi 7" screen?

OctoPrint?

KlipperScreen was not designed to work with OctoPrint and there are no plans to make it compatible.

edit: I never used OctoPrint!

No it is not. If you are happy with it, continue using it. There is no disadvantage and in fact its options to customize still exceeds other options.
The advantage of the other solutions is that they are specifically tailored to Klipper.