Generate firmware

Basic Information:

Printer Model: sapphire plus 1.1
MCU / Printerboard:
klippy.log

Fill out above information and in all cases attach your klippy.log file. Pasting your printer.cfg is not needed

Describe your issue:make menuconfig cannot edit. I’m totally new to the whole Klipper eco system but I’ve used the preconfigured Pi writer to install Mainsail. I’ve just reinstalled it because of the inability to edit the config file. The program loads a preconfigured file and only the first option can be modified, am I just missing out on how to select fields or is this another sort of problem? Mainsail seems to be working and I can navigate to the pi by ssh. I’ve put the stock printer.cfg by copying the example for the sapphire to a new file in the config directory.

Suggestions would appreciated.

Printer Model: Ender3v2
Printer Board: Creality 4.2.2
UI: fluidd

I ended up compiling mine on an octo pi version, however assuming its similar, when I ran the “make menuconfig” command, I was presented with a command line “gui” where I could use the up/down arrow keys and enter / left / right arrow keys to navigate and change options. The printer.cfg appears to only be used as part of the runtime, not as part of the firmware build. Good Luck!

Thanks Adam, that’s what is supposed to happen but I get a screen which can’t be edited. I tried octoklipper without success as well. Might be something to do with my internet I suppose.

I appreciate your input and support.

It shouldn’t be something online… are you dead set on octoprint? Having gone through the whole installer, I ended up using Fluidd. As an image its up to date (bullseye vs buster) and it seemed to have most of the needed libraries. If you have an extra SD card, you might try flashing a version of that and compiling on there.