Under extruding move from Marlin to Klipper

Basic Information:

Printer Model: ender 3 v2 with an sprite pro extruder
MCU / Printerboard: STM 32-bit board (4.2.7)

klippy.log (530.1 KB)

Hi, I am relatively new to 3d printing. I have an ender 3 v2 with an sprite pro extruder and 4.2.7 version print board.

All works very well with Marlin and Octoprint. but like alot of people want to move to Klipper due to the possible speeds.

I have installed the firmware and done all the calibration steps. (i have done the extruder rotation calibration many times!) but all the prints are coming out terrible, I did the same print on the 2 different firmwares and the Klipper one was about half the weight.

In the slicer I have increased the flow rate to 200% and the quality of the prints are much better (not prefect).

So the question is, what calibration step or setting should i be looking at within Klipper to solve this correctly and not use this slicer workaround?

Any help would be great/

1 Like

Hello @pete !

Have you checked the correct value of rotation_distance for the extruder?

Setting your slicer to 200% EM is definately the wrong approach.
Do a proper extruder calibration and go from there.
You need to make sure that your extruder extrudes i.e. 100mm of filament when 100mm is requested (not on the output side of course!)

Hi I have done this, following the “measure and trim” procedure found here: Rotation distance - Klipper documentation

When I make the mark at 70mm and extrude 50mm i am left with 20mm (on the input side :rofl:)

my extruder config is as follows:

[extruder]
max_extrude_only_distance: 200.0
step_pin: PB3
dir_pin: PB4
enable_pin: !PC3
microsteps: 16
gear_ratio: 42:12
rotation_distance: 26.359
nozzle_diameter: 0.400
filament_diameter: 1.750
heater_pin: PA1
sensor_type: EPCOS 100K B57560G104F
sensor_pin: PC5
control: pid
pid_Kp: 23.561
pid_Ki: 1.208
pid_Kd: 114.859
min_temp: 0
max_temp: 260
pressure_advance: 0.04