What algorithm is being used for smoothing by the pid controller?

what algorithm is being used here? My degree is in computational physics/math, but i don’t recognize this algorithm.

Some related discussion here:

I was also confused by this line, but I believe that it is simply a first order low-pass filter.

1 Like

It’s a “modified moving average” - see Moving average - Wikipedia and Moving average - Wikipedia

-Kevin

2 Likes

I see this has been in the code base since the very beginning, can you speak to why this is being used? Was this an attempt at getting a more accurate derivative?

I ask, because I’m rewriting the ControlPID class. I stripped this, and the temp_integ_max bits out, as well as fixed a logic error. I’m now getting substantially better control for the same kp, ki, & kd values.

I was just getting ready to do a second pass, and switch to trapezoidal integration as its substantially more accurate than the right hand method currently being used. so I could fairly easily add this back in, if it yielded a benefit.

Yes - it is intended to reduce the impact of noise on the derivative calculation.

-Kevin

you are already dealing with noise pretty well in the adc controller via oversampling.

What looks like noise in the derivative data is just the fact the ‘backward Euler method’ (what temp_diff / time_diff is) is the simplest way to numerically calculate a derivative, but that also makes it the least accurate. its error is on the order of O(h), so to get a more accurate answer, temp updates would need to happen 10 to 100 times more often (not realistic).

The moving average is’t really helping, as it averaging data that’s already been averaged at the adc level. its adding lag/delay that looks like smoothing.

if the data truly needed to be smoothed, the temp readings feed into temperature_update would need to be smoothed using something like a Savitzky Golay filter, and then the derivative calculated based on the smoothed temperature values.