Klipper use with Android controller

Basic Information:

Printer Model: Ratrig VCore3 400
MCU / Printerboard: BTT Octopus

Hi
This is a search for knowledge and information.
Want to use Klipper on Vcore3.1 printer. Would like to use an Android phone as the controller, 3gb Ram, 64gb storage, Snapdragon 801 @ 2.5GHz… It seems a good solution on the face of it, as touch screen and processor are all in one.
This has been done before but I want to know if I can plug an SD Card or thumb drive with the gcode file into the mainboard (BTT Octopus) and use this to print from or would I have to load the file into the phone by wifi ?

First time using klipper so remember I am a newbie :upside_down_face:

Best Regards

Dataguy

For an understanding how Klipper works see Klipper Architecture / Ecosystem
That being said:

• Klipper needs a full Linux including respective build tools
  • Needs Python and Python modules
  • Full fledged USB port to talk to the printer board

While theoretically Android should come close, I doubt that it will run out of the box

I’ve taken the info from a YouTube Channel called ’ Run Klipper on Android! ’ by DalTron Printing.
He refers to

and

as the sources which enabled him to do it.

If possible it will be more or less the same as a mythical RPi with touch screen.

Hence my interest.

Best Regards

Dataguy

Well, try it and report back. After a quick view on it, nothing I would spend my time on. Seems that Klipper is running in kind of a virtual machine. Can work, can fail. See Running Klipper in a Virtual Machine (VM)

Well, I have a phone here that’s been rooted and is in otherwise good condition, so it may be worth a shot. Also a good use recycling what is otherwise scrap.

Would much sooner use an RPi but availability is non existant in the UK atm.

I’ll post if I get it working.

Best Regards

Dataguy

As Raspberrys are hard to get (or valued their weight in gold), i tried the same thing.